Winter and Christmas

Standard

This week was Christmas.  It was also a huge winter storm, which led to a few gems.

~

I decided to keep Liz home from daycare on Thursday, since there’s no way my little front wheel drive Kia Rio was going anywhere.  That plan worked well…until about noon, when I realized that I had no coffee and my brain was trying to pound its way out of my head and go to Starbucks.  I turned on the news to check road conditions, decided to try to dig out and acquire coffee, and got us dressed.

It took nearly an hour of digging to get the car out of the on-street parking space.  I was  NOT happy.  I hate snow.  I hate cold.  Liz had a blast, though.  She was throwing armloads of snow, making snow angels, wiping my car with the snowbrush, and telling me to be happy because the snow is so pretty.

Finally, after three attempts and all that digging, we got out!  We were so happy!  Liz was so proud of our good teamwork!  But what really got me was her in-depth understanding of TV news.  After we’d gotten done congratulating ourselves, Liz asked, “How do we call the news and make a news report that we had trouble getting our car out?  I bet they need to put that on TV.”

~

We went to my aunt’s house to put up her Christmas decorations.  Aunt doesn’t decorate, since she has arthritis…but she loves having a decorated house, so we help her out.

Liz loves decorating.  She actually volunteered to skip dessert so she could continue decorating Aunt’s house (an idea which Aunt vetoed, because she had run out of decorations).  Aunt then told her that some people decorate for a living.  Once I told her that the best and most famous decorators end up on TV, she was sold.  “MOM!  I could decorate my room!  And then I could decorate the downstairs at the townhouse, and decorate the back yard so it’s a garden, and I could even decorate the bafroom!”

~

It was the day before Christmas Eve.  Liz and I were driving across town.  I asked her, “What do you think Mrs. Claus is doing right now?”

She said, “I think she’s making dinner for Santa.  And all the elfs.  And maybe she has to go to the store, too, so she could get reindeer biscuits for the reindeers.  They’re like dog biscuits, only shaped like reindeers, and they taste like grass.”

“Of course.  Everyone needs food.  What do you think Mrs. Claus will do tomorrow, when Santa’s off delivering presents?” I asked.

“Well, maybe she will make herself some coffee or some hot chocolate.  And then she’ll sit back and relax, and…she could play video games!  I think she’ll play video games until the night, and then she’ll go to bed.”

~

She has also decided that Santa goes on vacation after Christmas, “…and so do the elfs, but they go on a different vacation.  And Mrs. Claus goes on a big vacation, too.  The reindeers just stay at the North Pole and eat grass and relax, because reindeers don’t go on vacations.”

Leave a Reply

